The Ministry of Shadows

Last Five Entries

Gone, But Not Forgotten?
Friday, Jan. 20, 2012

What The Internet Will Look Like Under SOPA
Wednesday, Jan. 18, 2012

Fearsgiving Week
Monday, Nov. 21, 2011

Jesus Approves of Waterboarding
Monday, Nov. 14, 2011

Beware of Asteroids
Wednesday, Nov. 09, 2011

Resources

FirstGov Portal

Legislative Database


Recommended Reading

Bindyree

Bruce Schneier

James Hudnall

Glenn Greenwald

D-Day

You Are Dumb


All links are current as of the date of publication. All content created by the author is copyrighted 2005-2010, except where held by the owners/publishers of parent works and/or subject materials. Any infringement of another's work is wholly unintentional. If you see something here that is yours, a polite request for removal or credit will be honored.



Stuff & Nonsense

Thursday, Nov. 10, 2005 1:40 PM


First, I remain on temporary disability due to the pinched nerve. The workers' compensation folks had cleared me to return to work, but it is the view of my immediate supervisor that the limitations (no repetitive use of left hand, no firm grasping/pushing/pulling with same) cannot be accomodated in our high-intensity, deadline-oriented business.

This is not a problem. I'd much rather heal fully than go back too early and risk re-injuring myself with greater severity/complications.

Anyway ...

1. Enough with the political telemarketing! It's bad enough I was getting daily calls telling me how to vote, but I just now received a call for someone's petition to put something on the ballot for the 2006 Primary! Thank you, your insensitivity has relegated anything you send me to the shredder.

The concept is for the populace to take an active role, not governance by 'Simon Says Vote Yes'. I understand the temptation of accepting the advice of pundits or celebrities or judging issues by who stands for them/against them ... but, please. Please take the time to at least give cursory attention to your voter information pamphlet and get a feeling for what you feel is right and sensible and workable for our government.

When you let anyone (including myself) dictate what you should or should not vote, you've ceded your responsibility as a voter, and abdicated a grave responsibility at the local, state, and federal level. Our system of government only works if we do.


2. And what's with the political flyers still showing up in the mail? Even an absentee ballot must be received no later than 8 PM on Election Day (your state law may be different). If you can't get that information to me prior to election day, you're wasting your time and money.

Almost all of the campaign literature received goes straight into the trash. I'll read your statement of candidacy in the Voter Information Guide.

However, if your statement then directs me to read your position(s) on your website, again, you're wasting your time. Talk to me directly. If your statement interests me, then perhaps I'll visit your website to follow through.


3. And to the folks who used bots to spam me with political messages, every single one got DELETED outright. I'm not going to click on your 'removal' link and verify my e-mail address.

Why anyone thinks that spam is going to help promote an issue is beyond me. In fact, I'll go as far to say that anyone who spams me on a ballot measure can be assured of my voting in the exact opposite manner. At the very least, you have drastically increased the level of proof/credibility that you must reach to gain my support.

But it's far more likely that you've earned a permanent spot on my "Idiots I Won't Give The Time of Day To" list.



The Ministry has received 0 comment(s) on this topic.